Enter a search request and press enter. Press Esc or the X to close.

Captivating Cephalopods

Eyes on Science

Fin-tastic Activities

Discover Cephalopods

Evidence suggests that cephalopods existed before dinosaurs roamed the earth. Currently, there are four known types of cephalopods: octopus, cuttlefish, squid, and nautilus. To classify as a cephalopod, they need to have arms or tentacles (the difference being the location of the suction cups on the limbs), blue-blood, and the ability to use propulsion to get through the water quickly. Cephalopods are fascinating invertebrates. Cuttlefish and octopus are particularly known for being intelligent, using advanced forms of communication and problem-solving. Squids can dart around the ocean at incredible speeds. Nautiluses can have over 90 arms. Even though scientists study these creatures regularly, there is still so much that they don’t understand.

More Ways to Explore

Learn more about one of the biggest cephalopods on our Giant Pacific Octopus Fact Page.

*External links are provided for informational purposes only; they do not constitute an endorsement by LLPA nor is LLPA responsible for the accuracy, legality, or content of the external site.

Stay Connected

Sign up to receive the latest news, upcoming events, and special offers!

I Accept

This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. If you continue using our website, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on this website and you agree to our Privacy Policy.

Skip to content